Why Does IPhone Archive Email Instead Of Delete?

How do I delete thousands of emails?

Click SearchUse the master check box at the top of the page to select all the emails on that page.Now a new option is shown below that master check box: All 50 conversations on this page are selected.

Click the option to select all conversations found.Press/choose the Trash icon to delete..

Do archived emails take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

What is the easiest way to delete emails from Gmail?

Solution 1:Log in to your Gmail account.Enter a search term in the top search field. … Check the box at the top of the search results to select all results on the page.Click “Select All Conversations” at the top of the search results. … Click the “Delete” trashcan icon and confirm your selection, if prompted.

Why are my emails going to archive?

When your new messages appear to be archived, it’s in fact a result of Gmail’s handling of archived messages. Instead of a folder entitled “All Archive” or “Archive”, like most other email providers, Gmail has a section entitled “All Mail”. True to the name, this contains all messages, new and archived alike.

Does Office 365 automatically archive emails?

The auto-expanding archiving feature in Office 365 provides additional storage in archive mailboxes. When auto-expanding archiving is turned on, and then the initial storage quota in a user’s archive mailbox is reached, Office 365 automatically adds additional storage space.

How do I change from archive to delete on iPhone email?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

Why is it so hard to delete emails on iPhone?

If you use Mail on your iPhone or iPad, then you’ve probably noticed it’s considerably difficult to delete messages — by default, there’s only an Archive button. There is a way, however, to move messages to the trash. It just isn’t very intuitive. Simply put, most of us don’t want to archive every single email message.

How do I permanently delete emails from iPhone?

In order to do so, there are only a few steps left to be at “Inbox Zero”:Open the Mail app.Tap ‘Edit’ in the top right-hand corner.Select all of the emails you want to delete. … After iOS deletes those emails, go to the trash and delete again.Repeat this process until all emails are completely gone.More items…•

How do I permanently delete messages from iPhone?

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchIn a message conversation, touch and hold the message bubble or attachment that you want to delete.Tap More.Tap Trash , then tap Delete Message. If you want to delete all messages in the thread tap Delete All, in the upper-left corner. Then tap Delete Conversation.

Why does mail archive instead of delete?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again.

How do I stop emails going to archive?

You can stop automatic archiving by the following steps: Open Outlook > Folders > Auto Archive settings > Ensure the Option ‘ Don’t archive items in this folder’ is enabled.

How do you delete emails on iPhone not archive?

How to set Gmail to delete instead of archive in Mail on iPhone and iPadOpen Settings.Swipe down and tap Passwords & Accounts.Tap your Gmail account.Select Account.Tap Advanced.Now below Move Discarded Messages Into: tap Deleted Mailbox.

Where do deleted emails go?

When you delete an email message, a contact, a calendar item, or a task, it’s moved to the Deleted Items folder in your mailbox. If the items is still in your Deleted Items folder: In your email folder list, select Deleted Items.

Does deleting emails on iPhone delete them on computer?

As a result, if you delete a message on your PC, it will automatically be deleted from your iPhone, and vice versa. … You may also need to set up your iPhone’s e-mail account again. See “Access Gmail in iPhone Mail Using IMAP” at tinyurl.com/ypwvq3.

Why does my iPhone Mail says archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

How do I delete thousands of emails from my iPhone?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

Should I archive or delete emails?

Deleting removes emails from your inbox. It does save up space, but you won’t be able to ever again access your emails. … Archiving also saves up storage space, by capturing and storing emails in an archive (either in the cloud or in-house appliance).

Why does all my Gmail go to archive?

The ‘archive’ folder is simply the gmail “all mail” folder. Once messages are read, that’s where they go by default. If I had to guess, I’d say you have at least one of your email clients set up to access gmail using POP3.